top of page

The Song of Amergin

A long, long, long (yes I'm old) time ago, when I first decided to move away from Wicca and into Druidry before realizing that Celtic Reconstructionism was my path, I enrolled in a course at the New Order of Druids. It was the old bardic course which had as a requirement a meditation once a month on one of the lines of the song of Amergin. I dropped out of that course because of a few things that were happening in my life at the time and when I went back they had changed the course. The song of Amergin was still in there but now we were supposed to discuss it and figure out the thought process behind it. Unfortunately, I no longer have my work from that time so that I could share it with you. However, a friend of mine - Brian Walsh - did a great introduction to the Song of Amergin in two parts so I will share that instead.



I met the Song of Amergin in another form when I was looking for something to put me into a trance while doing my courses for Ár nDraíocht Féin: A Druid Fellowship (ADF), I was going through a phase where I wanted some group interaction and they were the closest thing to a Reconstructionist organization I could find. I came across this beauty while I was doing the Trance course and have been using the first few moments of it on a loop to achieve trance state.


But then I quickly discovered other versions of the song on YouTube, here are a couple that I love.

**A quick note: Submissions to Air n-Aithesc for the Lughnasadh/Samhain issue will close on June 30, 2017. So if you are thinking of submitting something, time is running out.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page