top of page

YouTube as a Resource


A lot of people ask me how I get resources for my research living in Kuwait. Well, one of the places I get my material is YouTube. I search a lot on the media site and I do find some great videos that make me think. I do have some criteria for it though. It has to be by someone I trust in the field or from a reputed University.

A lot of times universities will have online classes which they conduct for free or lectures for symposiums that happened previously which they share on Youtube. I also look for interviews with people I trust in the field. Let me share with you some of the awesome materials that I found on YouTube.


The following lectures were posted by the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland. They are by Professor John Waddell and they examine the challenges posed by attempting to correlate archaeology and myth.







If you search for Professor Barry Cunliffe, you'll find a lot of his lectures. Here are a few.




A couple of other names to search for are John T. Koch and J.P. Mallory. So even something as simple as YouTube can be a great source of information and a starting point for a search. Just be very careful of the kind of videos you choose. Make sure you know who the speaker is, what his credentials are, and what kind of bias they may have (I'll be writing about authors and biases at a later date).



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page