top of page

Writer’s Block

Every writer struggles with this at sometime in their writing career, sometimes more than once. It could be lack of ideas, not knowing where to start, not knowing how to start, or fear of a blank page. I’ve gotten a lot of advice from friends and even searched on google, but the truth is everyone deals with it in their own way. I’ll tell you how I deal with it and what works for me. Of course, just because it works for me (most of the time) it does not mean that it will also work for you.

For me, my writer’s block comes from not always having ideas present on my mind or I feel that I have used up all of my ideas and no more will come to me. At times like these I will sit down and just write everything that comes to mind. I don’t rate these ideas or think of about them at all I just write them down and when I feel that I’m done I put them away for a few days.

After a few days, I take them out and look them over. Sometimes one or two ideas will be usable and sometimes these sentences (whether fully formed or not) will spark in my mind a new idea which I can then use. Sometimes I have to start over again but I never through out my previous efforts because I might find them interesting at a later date.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page